Have you ever wanted to limit the time a collaborator has access to a file? In the next couple of months, Google will roll out a feature which will allow you to set an “expiration date” for individual users who have “can view” or “can comment” permissions. This will make it extremely easier to share information with outside parties. Set an expiration date and after the time runs out, the external user will automatically lose access to the file.
Please note that you will not be able to set expiration dates for file owners or users with “can edit” access.
IMPORTANT: This feature will roll out gradually over the course of two to three months; please note that you may not see the feature in your domains until mid- to late Q2 2016.